"Time and space are modes in which we think and not conditions in which we live."

— Albert Einstein

Public Telescope Nights

Event Date: 
Repeats every week until Thu Dec 14 2017 except Thu Nov 23 2017.
Thu, 09/07/2017 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 09/14/2017 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 09/21/2017 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 09/28/2017 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 10/05/2017 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 10/12/2017 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 10/19/2017 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 10/26/2017 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 11/02/2017 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 11/09/2017 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 11/16/2017 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 11/30/2017 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 12/07/2017 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 12/14/2017 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm

Join us on Thursday nights for free stargazing with our telescopes (weather permitting). All are welcome!

WHEN: 8 - 9 PM, Clear Thursdays through Dec. 14. Note: there will be no Telescope Night on Nov. 23 (Thanksgiving)


WHERE: Telescopes will be set up on campus in front of the Center for Environmental and Life Sciences (CELS) building. The CELS building is the large white building next to Richardson Hall (Science and Mathematics building).


TO SEE:
Constellations, the Moon, planets, star clusters, double stars, nebulae, galaxies, and more.

 

Our telescopes cannot see through clouds! Public Telescope Night will be cancelled if the weather is cloudy, very cold, or very windy (It is considered clear if you can see the moon or ten stars clearly). If Telescope Night is cancelled a message will be left at (973) 594-6524 after 6 p.m. on Thursdays. Updates are also posted on our Facebook page. Montclair State University is located at 1 Normal Ave, Montcair, NJ.