Behold, directly overhead, a certain strange star was suddenly seen...
Amazed, and as if astonished and stupefied, I stood still.

— Tycho Brahe

telescope

Telescope Nights

Event Date: 
Thu, 10/18/2018 - 7:30pm - 9:00pm

Telescope Nights 

Join us on Thursday nights for free stargazing with our telescopes (weather permitting). All are welcome!

Telescope Nights

Event Date: 
Thu, 09/20/2018 - 7:30pm - 9:00pm

Telescope Nights 

Join us on Thursday nights for free stargazing with our telescopes (weather permitting). All are welcome!

Telescope Nights

Event Date: 
Thu, 09/13/2018 - 7:30pm - 9:00pm

Telescope Nights 

Join us on Thursday nights for free stargazing with our telescopes (weather permitting). All are welcome!

 

WHEN: 8 - 9 PM, Clear Thursdays:  September 6th to December 13th (except Thanksgiving)

7:30 PM for kids to see the Moon! 9/13, 9/20, 10/18, 11/15, 12/13

 

WHERE :  In front of Richardson Hall and CELS building on the Science Quad, east of the Student Center. Visitors can park in the Red Hawk Deck, or in the metered spots in Lot 19 behind Blanton Hall. Parking info.

 

TO SEE:  Constellations, the Moon, Planets, Star clusters, Double stars, Nebulae, Galaxies, and more.

  • The Moon will be featured on 9/13, 9/20, 10/18, 11/15, 12/13
  • See Mars in Sept-Dec, Saturn and its moons Sept-Oct.
  • See Uranus in Nov-Dec, Neptune in Oct-Dec.
  • See the Summer Triangle, Ring and Dumbbell Nebulas
  • See the Andromeda Galaxy & Perseus double cluster in Oct- Dec.

 

Our telescopes cannot see through clouds! Public Telescope Night will be cancelled if the weather is cloudy, very cold (< 20°F), or very windy (It is considered clear if you can see the moon or ten stars clearly). If Telescope Night is cancelled a message will be left at (973) 594-6524 after 6 p.m. on Thursdays. Updates are also posted on our Facebook page. Montclair State University is located at 1 Normal Ave, Montcair, NJ. 

NJAG
Puiblic Telescope Nights

Stargazing @ Wallisch - Cancelled!

Event Date: 
Sat, 11/10/2018 - 6:15pm - 10:00pm

Wallisch Homestead
STARGAZING - Cancelled!

The Friends of Wallisch Homestead (West Milford, NJ) are partnering with the North Jersey Astronomical Group (NJAG) again this year for a free evening of stargazing on Saturday, Nov. 10. Note new time: 6:15 -10:00 PM.


This will be the fourth season NJAG returns to the Homestead. The evening will finish around 10:30 PM. NJAG Members will be setting up their telescopes for viewing by the general public. The first object that will come into view will be Jupiter, low in the west as twilight deepens. Saturn and Mars will be visible as well this evening. There will also be deep sky objects visible and will include globular clusters M13 in Hercules, M92, and M15, as well as the Great Perseus Double Cluster, M57 (Ring Nebula) and M27 Dumbbell Nebula. If the sky is very clear, the Veil Nebula supernova remnant and the great Andromeda Galaxy will be on display as well.

All are welcome and encouraged to attend! The Wallisch Homestead is located at 65 Lincoln Ave, West Milford, NJ 07480.

 

Telescope Nights

Event Date: 
Repeats every week until Thu Dec 13 2018 except Thu Sep 13 2018, Thu Sep 20 2018, Thu Oct 18 2018, Thu Nov 15 2018, Thu Nov 22 2018, Thu Dec 13 2018.
Thu, 09/27/2018 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 10/04/2018 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 10/11/2018 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 10/25/2018 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 11/01/2018 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 11/08/2018 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 11/29/2018 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 12/06/2018 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm

Telescope Nights 

Join us on Thursday nights for free stargazing with our telescopes (weather permitting). All are welcome!

Stargazing at Wallisch - POSTPONED DUE TO WEATHER!

Event Date: 
Sat, 05/12/2018 - 8:30pm - 10:00pm
The Friends o

Stargazing at Jenny Jump

Event Date: 
Sat, 09/29/2018 - 8:00pm - 10:30pm

C-14 TelescopeThe NJAG will be at the UACNJ Observatory in Jenny Jump State Forest. This is a free public program. An astronomy presentation begins at 8 p.m. in the lecture hall regardless of the weather. 

Stargazing at Jenny Jump

Event Date: 
Sat, 07/07/2018 - 8:00pm - 10:30pm

C-14 TelescopeThe NJAG will be at the UACNJ Observatory in Jenny Jump State Forest. This is a free public program. An astronomy presentation begins at 8 p.m.

Stargazing at Jenny Jump

Event Date: 
Sat, 05/26/2018 - 8:00pm - 10:30pm

C-14 TelescopeThe NJAG will be at the UACNJ Observatory in Jenny Jump State Forest. This is a free public program. An astronomy presentation begins at 8 p.m. in the lecture hall regardless of the weather. 

Stargazing at Jenny Jump

Event Date: 
Sat, 04/14/2018 - 8:00pm - 10:30pm

NJAG-MMAS Observatory