"The large-scale homogeneity of the universe makes it very difficult to believe that the structure of the universe is determined by anything so peripheral as some complicated molecular structure on a minor planet orbiting a very average star in the outer suburbs of a fairly typical galaxy."

— Steven Hawking

stargazing

TELESCOPE NIGHT

Event Date: 
Repeats every week until Thu Mar 05 2020 .
Thu, 01/30/2020 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 02/06/2020 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 02/13/2020 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 02/20/2020 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 02/27/2020 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 03/05/2020 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm

SPRING 2020 PUBLIC TELESCOPE NIGHTS

Stargazing@Great Swamp

Event Date: 
Fri, 09/27/2019 - 8:00pm - 10:00pm

When: Friday Sept. 27; 8:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Where: Great Swamp Watershed Association HQ

 

Stargazing @ Jenny Jump

Event Date: 
Sat, 09/21/2019 - 8:00pm - 10:30pm

ObservatoryThe NJAG will be at the UACNJ Observatory in Jenny Jump State Forest. This is a free public program. An astronomy presentation begins at 8 p.m.

Stargazing @ Jenny Jump

Event Date: 
Sat, 08/10/2019 - 8:00pm - 10:30pm

ObservatoryThe NJAG will be at the UACNJ Observatory in Jenny Jump State Forest. This is a free public program. An astronomy presentation begins at 8 p.m. in the lecture hall regardless of the weather.

Stargazing @ Jenny Jump

Event Date: 
Sat, 06/29/2019 - 8:00pm - 10:30pm

ObservatoryThe NJAG will be at the UACNJ Observatory in Jenny Jump State Forest. This is a free public program. An astronomy presentation begins at 8 p.m. in the lecture hall regardless of the weather.

Star Gaze at BAMS - Cancelled

Event Date: 
Mon, 05/13/2019 - 8:00pm - 9:30pm

NOTE: Due to the poor weather conditions this event has been cancelled!

 

This public stargazing event will be held, weather permitting, at Buzz Aldrin Middle School in Montclair NJ at 173 Bellevue Ave, Montclair, NJ 07043.

Stargazing @ Jenny Jump

Event Date: 
Sat, 05/18/2019 - 8:00pm - 10:30pm

ObservatoryThe NJAG will be at the UACNJ Observatory in Jenny Jump State Forest. This is a free public program. An astronomy presentation begins at 8 p.m. in the lecture hall regardless of the weather.

Telescope Nights

Event Date: 
Thu, 04/11/2019 - 7:30pm - 9:00pm

galaxyJoin us on Thursday nights for free stargazing with our telescopes (weather permitting). All are welcome!

WHEN: 8 - 9 PM, Clear Thursdays through May 2 (except March 14)

Telescope Nights

Event Date: 
Repeats every week until Thu May 02 2019 except Thu Feb 14 2019, Thu Mar 14 2019, Thu Apr 11 2019.
Thu, 02/07/2019 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 02/21/2019 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 02/28/2019 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 03/07/2019 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 03/21/2019 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 03/28/2019 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 04/04/2019 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 04/18/2019 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 04/25/2019 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 05/02/2019 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm

galaxyJoin us on Thursday nights for free stargazing with our telescopes (weather permitting). All are welcome!

WHEN: 8 - 9 PM, Clear Thursdays through May 2 (except March 14)

Eclipse Watch - Cancelled

Event Date: 
Sun, 01/20/2019 - 10:30pm - Mon, 01/21/2019 - 12:30am

lunar eclipse

Eclipse Watch